2016-2017 Texas A&M University 3 Minute Thesis Competition Finalists

Congratulations to the finalists selected for the 2016-2017 TAMU 3 Minute Thesis Competition! 

Texas A&M University’s 3MT finals was held at the Bethancourt Ballroom MSC on November 29th 5:30-8:30pm. This is a research communication competition that was developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), which has spread to Europe and the U. S. over the last 2 years. Graduate students have three minutes and one slide to present a compelling oration on their thesis/dissertation research and its significance.  This year we have eight finalists from various graduate programs across campus who will compete for a change to win a prize of up to $1500 and represent Texas A&M at the regional competition in Annapolis, Maryland.  Our final’s judge panel will include representatives from KBTX, the Deans Council, the Distinguished Professors, Faculty Senate, the Graduate and Professional Student Council, and the local business community. Come out and support excellence in graduate education at Texas A&M University.

Master's Competition Finalists

Michael Kalan


Department: Mechanical Engineering
3MT Title: Preventing Exploding Lithium Ion Batteries

Rachael Muschalek

Department: Biomedical Engineering
3MT Title: Self Expanding Foam for Brain Aneurysms

Rayhana Sohel


Department: Petroleum Engineering
3MT Title: Fuel for the Future

Neeraj Yadav

Department: Construction Science
3MT Title: Warning System for Outdoor Construction Workers using Haptic Communication

Doctoral Competition Finalists

Madeleine Durkee


Department: Biomedical Engineering
3MT Title: Shining a Light on Tuberculosis

Ramesh Gunaratna

Department: Biochemistry & Biophysics
3MT Title: Single Change on Tumor Suppressor p53: A Contributor of Ethnic Disparity in Female Breast Cancer

Michael Moore


Department: Chemistry
3MT Title: Diving Into a 70-Year-Old Mystery: Iron Pools in Mitochondria

Julie Read

Department: Aerospace Engineering
3MT Title: Integration of Perturbed Motion Using Modified Equinoctial Elements

Sarah Trimble

Department: Geography
3MT Title: Risk of Rip Currents

Students who Competed in the Preliminary Competition

Master's Participants

Chemical Engineering

Islam, Raka
Petroleum Engineering


Joshi, Deeksha


Negahdari, Amir
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Pena, Alyssa


Torkan, Arash
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Zhai, Tianbo
Mechanical Engineering



Doctoral Participants

Ahmed, Lubna
Chemical Engineering

Bajaj, Ishan
Chemical Engineering

Brink, Kirsten
Biomedical Engineering

Du, Yuxian
Health Policy & Management


Ejaz, Iqra
Industrial & Systems Engineering


Farnia, Forouzan
Educational Administration & Human Resource Development

Han, Duanduan
Chemical Engineering

Illupeju, Olusola
Civil Engineering

Iyer, Shachit
Chemical Engineering

Jain, Prerna
Chemical Engineering

Jozaghi, Taymaz
Mechanical Engineering

Khodabakhshi, Parisa
Civil Engineering

Kotu, Susmitha
Chemical Engineering

Marks, Haley
Biomedical Engineering

Peterson, Tyler

Rajanna, Vijay
Computer Science & Engineering


Rychlik, Kristal
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences


Sakhaei, Mohammad Hussein Rafiei
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Shang, Daiqiang

Shannonhouse, John

Sipala, Maria Reimi
Geology & Geophysics

Teymouri, Mehdi
Civil Engineering


Williams, Diarra
Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology